The MC-SS 2011 proceedings are available at IEEE Xplore.




Locations of visitors to this page
8th International Workshop on
Multi-Carrier Systems & Solutions
(MC-SS 2011)
May 3-4, 2011
Herrsching, Germany

The wireless standards 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE), WiMAX, IEEE 802.11a/n, and DxB have in common that they apply the spectrally efficient multi-carrier modulation in order to achieve very high rate data transmission. This trend is expected to continue in the future with the development of the next generation of mobile wireless communications under the IMT-Advanced standardization activities. Additional measures like advanced coding, spreading, and MIMO are combined with multi-carrier transmission to further enhance the efficiency of future systems. In the tradition of the MC-SS, this two-day workshop will be focused on the following topics:

  • Evolution and progress within IMT Advanced, LTE, WiMAX, and IEEE 802.11a/n
  • Trends in digital broadcasting systems (DVB-T/T2/H, DAB, DMB, DRM, etc.)
  • Multi-carrier access schemes such as OFDMA, MC-CDMA, DFTS-OFDM, IFDMA, OFDM-IDMA
  • Cognitive radio and dynamic spectrum utilization based on multi-carrier transmission
  • OFDM implementation issues
  • Efficient coding, modulation, multiplexing, and detection strategies
  • MIMO, space-time coding, smart antennas, CoMP in conjunction with multi-carrier systems
  • Synchronization and channel estimation for OFDM systems
  • Localization in multi-carrier systems
  • Navigation/positioning-aided multi-carrier communications

The 8th International Workshop on Multi-Carrier Systems & Solutions will be held on May 3-4, 2011 in Herrsching, Germany. The Call for Papers can be downloaded as PDF. Prospective authors are encouraged to submit a 2-page extended abstract including results via the EDAS platform. The workshop proceedings are going to be published in the IEEE Xplore database. Technical exhibitions addressing the workshop's scope are welcome. Please contact the Workshop Office.

Workshop Chairs

Workshop Office

Armin Dammann, Simon Plass

German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany
Email: {Armin.Dammann, Simon.Plass}

Stefan Kaiser

DOCOMO Euro-Labs, Germany

Khaled Fazel

Rohde & Schwarz, Germany

Jutta Uelner, Christina Burger

German Aerospace Center (DLR)
Institute of Communications and Navigation
Muenchner Str. 20
82234 Wessling
Email: {Jutta.Uelner, Christina.Burger}

Technical Program Comittee

Fumiyuki Adachi

Tohoku University, Japan

Marc Moeneclaey

Ghent University, Belgium

Gerhard Bauch

University of the Federal Armed Forces, Germany

Werner Mohr

Nokia Siemens Networks, Germany

Gerhard Fettweis

Technical University of Dresden, Germany

Stephan Pfletschinger

CTTC, Spain

Bernard Fleury

Aalborg University, Denmark

Li Ping

City University of Hong Kong, China

Lajos Hanzo

University of Southampton, U.K.

Hermann Rohling

Technical University of Hamburg-Harburg, Germany

Jean-Francois Helard

INSA Rennes, France

Stephan Sand

DLR, Germany

Thomas Kaiser

Leibniz University Hannover, Germany

Hikmet Sari


Anja Klein

Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany

Mamoru Sawahashi


Witold A. Krzymien

University of Alberta / TR-Labs, Canada

Ingo Viering

Nomor Research, Germany

Jürgen Lindner

University of Ulm, Germany

Henk Wymeersch

Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Marco Luise

University of Pisa, Italy

Last modified: Aug 29, 2013